Geaux Tigers!

Today I experienced my first game of American Football as well as the ‘tailgating’ that accompanies it in the South. I decided to tailgate with the rowing team because in my experience rowers know how to drink so I figured I couldn’t go wrong. I was right. Being given a vodka based drink at 11am when you haven’t had breakfast definitely helps define the meaning of “straight to your head”.

[This is a video heavy post]

Tailgating is defined by Urban Dictionary as:

Drinking lots of beer or makin’ food in the parking lot before a sports or other large event, (usually football or a concert.)
“We were tailgating last Saturday.”

We got to the tailgate at about 12, I gave my $10 contribution and was invited to drink as much beer and eat as much jambalaya as I could. I took advantage of this deal and was very happy.

Flip cup
Beer pong – Echo and I won against the six time champions!

The game itself was not the most… erm… enthralling sports event I’ve ever been to but the atmosphere was incredible. The 90,000 + stadium was almost entirely full and it wasn’t even a big game.

I used the game as an opportunity to learn the chants that I’d been told about. Which weren’t too difficult, much easier than the country songs at tailgating. Callin’ Baton Rouge is played at the beginning of every game and at least five times during tailgating and multiple people have told me that I’m one of few people in the city who doesn’t know the lyrics.

When they introduce the players they show them on the huge screen as a tiger and then it fades to their face, I tried to take a photo but I don’t think it really worked. I thought it was cool anyway….

American football has four fifteen minute quarters, except nobody tells you that they last for about forty five minutes… by half way through the second quarter I was entering the one way street that was drunk falling asleep. Although I wasn’t alone, by this point at least half of the group I went with had surrendered to the sleep monster so I headed home when Echo did just before half time.

“I love your accent” count: 12

Food I couldn’t finish count: 4

x

Leave a Reply

