I finally come to terms with my own awkwardness

I don’t know if you’ve ever been in a situation where everybody jumps to their feet, puts their hand on their hearts and faces a flag. I haven’t until moving to the States and every single time I fail to know what to do with myself. This is made worse by the fact that every time I’m in one of these situations I’m with the rowing team and therefore surrounded by Americans who without hesitation encourage me to join in. I don’t want to be obnoxious by not doing it but I’m not American so I shouldn’t really do anything and I just don’t have the balls to belt out Rule Britannia.

Well, as much as I don’t want to post this photo, I think it is required for the integrity of this blog in documenting my year abroad. So here it is, me in my socially inept glory. Notice the slightly curled hand in the middle of my chest, awkward tugging at sleeve and bad posture, this thing screams “What am I doing?!”.

Image

x

Leave a Reply

