On having a roommate

I thought I’d find it much harder than I have to adjust to having a roommate, but somehow I really lucked out with Lexi. Not only does the girl sleep through anything (except, it turns out, me failing to lock our broken door at 5.40am) but this morning on our way to class the following conversation really confirmed to me that I could’ve gotten a lot worse.

Me: I won’t do it if you don’t want me to but I think it’s time we started listening to Christmas music.

Lexi: Oh my God Megan, I’ve been listening to it for two days now with my headphones in. I didn’t want you to judge me but that’s why I haven’t been using the speakers.

Image

As much as it’ll be nice to have my own space again next semester I actually have had no major issues so far (the Frat Boy Incident was funny in hindsight…) which can’t be said for a few of the year abroad kids. My friend Kev tells me that his roommate has had… getting to know you sessions with his hand while Kev was not only in the room, but awake. Very clearly awake. So really, for all of you at home who give me a sad look every time I say I have to share a room, all I have to say is that there is nearly always someone present to let me know that napping is acceptable or to watch a video that I found in the weird part of Youtube and that suits me just fine.

“I love your accent” count: 22

x

One Reply to “On having a roommate”

  1. she can come stay with us anytime yall want! we’ll cook feasts! and I’m glad you’re moving in in January cause I hate christmas music 🙂

Leave a Reply

