A thoroughly Louisianan weekend

If there was a way to experience everything that makes this state what it is, this weekend was the one stop shop. It started bright and early on Friday morning when we drove down to DeJean’s house, hopped in a boat with the funniest dog in the world and rolled up to his family’s camp in the middle of nowhere.

IMG_1346

DeJean’s dad has been building this thing from the ground up for fifteen years and it is just incredible. It’s the kind of place that would be heaven for the Lost Boys in Peter Pan but would make my mother buy an industrial size container of hand sanitiser. On the boat ride there I saw my first alligator and there were all kinds of bugs and shit, nature watch was in full force.

IMG_1368

For lunch we ate deer that was so good I will probably reminisce about it for the rest of my life, with red beans and rice. For dinner we had the majority of a baby pig which was also incredible and delicious and the best thing I’ve had in my belly for a while.

IMG_1354

We spent the day drinking beer, shooting at targets in the water and throwing random objects in the water for Sailor to fetch which he would do every single time without a moment of hesitation. Then we spent the night drinking more beer, playing card games, pretending that the floor was lava and finding Kyle being the Deerman far funnier than it probably was.

IMG_1358

I had such a good time and I realised how lucky I was to be able to go on adventures like this for real rather than paying for a set up swamp tour. The only slight dampener was the six baby birds that got sent on a Titanic style cruise when their nest was discovered in the grill, but let’s be honest, it all added to the coonass atmosphere.

Death count: 1 deer, 1 catfish, 1 pig, 6 baby birds and a few mosquitoes

Saturday we came back home to Baton Rouge and went on a hunt for cowboy boots so that we would be appropriately kitted out for Bayou Country Superfest the next day. The boot hunt was successful! I am now the proud owner of a beautiful pair which are just about subtle enough to get away with at home, but not really. I will wear them with pride and continue to update the blog with pictures of my boots in places that they do not belong.

400944_10151365586995895_1176222573_n
The boots where they do belong

Bayou Country Superfest was a beautiful culmination to the lifelong love for country music that I have developed this year. I always knew I liked country music, I just never knew what to listen to. We saw Rodney Atkins, The Band Perry, Luke Bryan and Zac Brown Band, and I can’t even describe how much I enjoyed it. DeJean and Courtney were wearing… well.. I guess I’ll just post a picture because it’s kind of hard to describe and I almost didn’t look foreign in what I was wearing! A little part of me thinks that in an alternate universe I was born on a ranch in Texas, but that’s a story for another day.

Courtney's photo

So we went from the bayou, to Bayou Country Superfest in one weekend and I’m pretty sure I had a smile plastered on my face the entire time.

Song of the weekend:

Leave a Reply

