A year ago today

Today is exactly a year since I couldn’t sleep because I was so convinced that I had forgotten to fill in a form and I was going to be denied entry to the US. I could even go as far as to say that it is the one year anniversary of discovering freedom. That’s quite an American statement though so I’ll just stick with calling it the start of my year abroad.

Image
First photo in Louisiana

In the last year what has changed? I weigh the same, I’m still 5’5″, my hair is still brown and my eyes are still blue. Physically I haven’t changed except that I’m a little more tanned (who am I kidding, this is the most tanned I’ve ever been!), faster on the erg and a better runner.

I think I’m a better person now. More open, more confident and more driven. But aside from the personal changes, I have come out of this experience with some of the best friends I could ask for.

Had I been presented with a ‘Friend machine’ I wonder if I would have chosen the beer loving adventurer, the coonass, the Bama hater, the sailor, the tie-dye and animal obsessive, the girl from LA who misses her non-existent Tennessee home, the aspiring author, the America lover who hung his flag the wrong way round… this list could go on forever and I didn’t forget anyone, in fact I’ve been thinking up descriptions for every single one of you, but if I wrote them down I’d be here for days.

Image
Last photo: cuddling a puppy by the pool (beer belly cropped out)

Just to keep everyone in the loop, I am currently studying for the GRE which I plan to take next Saturday depending on how confident I feel about it (the maths section is knocking me sideways). I’m looking to apply for an MFA in Creative Writing starting next fall so while I have a shortlist of where I plan to apply (LSU being one of my choices, of course), if anyone has any suggestions then please let me know.

In other news, photos from my Uncle’s wedding have come through so I will write about that this weekend and I am nearing the end of my work experience at the Daily Express so I you can hear about that soon.

Next week I am working on Milkshake! which is Channel Five’s children’s TV show, I have been told to wear something I don’t mind getting glitter on….

Leave a Reply

