Mid-week update

Already some cool things have been happening this week. Last night I received a copy of The New Luciad which is the annual creative anthology put together by the University of Leicester. I have a poem and a short story in it. It’s nothing major but it’s my first time getting something literary in print and I was pretty excited to get hold of it. I was pleasantly surprised when I found out that I received an honourable mention for my poetry that nobody thought to tell me about! They also called me an ‘up and coming poet’ which made me giggle.

IMG_4366I’m a little annoyed at myself for not submitting the current version for the competition, I might have actually won something rather than being a perpetual runner up (my story also received an honourable mention) and I don’t even care that I’m humble bragging because I’m pretty proud of myself.

I have also started classes! My first session as a TA almost went horribly wrong when I decided that I definitely had time to watch the last episode of True Blood and then realised that I really didn’t. So I arrived just on time a little flustered and sweaty, but I managed to save it. I also had my first fiction workshop which scared the bejesus out of me and has sent me into spirals of writers block. Finally, I discovered exactly why my campus is called the Biscayne Bay campus, and it is this:

IMG_4361

 

Dayuuum.

Tomorrow I have my driving test. Or at least I hope I do. I phoned to check I had booked the right things and the woman asked if I was German three times (“No, I’m from England”, “The UK?”, “ENG-LAND”), confirmed what I had booked, never quite managed to answer the question I was asking and then dropped the call. So, wish me luck because I’m not entirely sure what is going to happen tomorrow but there is a 100% chance that I will be stressed.

Leave a Reply

